Information Technology Security Incident

Click here for a notice about a data privacy incident at Capital Health.

Program Leadership

Ekaterina Vypritskaya, MD, FACP
Director, Transitional Year Residency Program

Ekaterina Vypritskaya, MD, FACPDr. Vypritskaya graduated from Kuban Medical Academy in Russia with Honors. She was trained in Internal Medicine and Cardiology, and received her PhD in Arrhythmology. She worked at the Kuban Medical Academy for 10 years as a Cardiologist with concomitant teaching responsibilities.

Dr. Vypritskaya immigrated to the United States and once again completed an Internal Medicine Residency in 2009, this time with Capital Health. Following graduation, Dr. Vypritskaya served as Chief Resident/Junior Faculty, Core Faculty, and Associate Program Director of Capital Health’s Internal Medicine Residency Program. In 2021, she also took on the role of Associate Director of the new Transitional Year Program at Capital Health.

Dr. Vypritskaya enjoys working with residents and medical students on ward rotations as they always bring energy, intellectual curiosity, and “out of the box” thinking to the patient's bedside and teaching rounds.

Dr. Vypritskaya partners with her residents on quality improvement projects such as preventing hospital-associated infections, improvement in the management and diagnosis of sepsis, and improving clinical documentation. She strongly believes that medical knowledge, clinical reasoning, and systems-based practice should all be intertwined, revised, and reinforced to provide safe and high quality patient care.

Dr. Vypritskaya is Co-Chair and founding member of the Diversity, Patient Care Equity, and Inclusion Council at Capital Health. She is also a member of the Credentials and Medical Records Committees at Capital.

One of Dr. Vypritskaya’s passions is Community Outreach. She leads a collaboration of Internal Medicine and Transitional Year residents with the Eastern Service Workers Association (ESWA), who are our neighbors in Trenton. ESWA is an association of underserved, mostly Spanish-speaking community members. On weekends, Dr. Vypritskaya and residents provide educational sessions on topics requested by ESWA members. They also provide gui8dance to establish Primary Care at our resident-run clinic (Family Health Center). In 2020, Dr. Vypritskaya and 3 senior Internal Medicine residents received a Capital Women in Philanthropy Award for the project “Partnering with Patients and Families to Improve Health Literacy in Our Community,” which reflected their work with ESWA.


Omega D. Ball, MD, MBS
Associate Program Director, Transitional Year Residency Program

Omega D. Ball, MD, MBSDr. Ball is the associate medical director of the Capital Health Hospitalist Group. She grew up in South Florida ,where she graduated from medical school and completed her Internal Medicine Residency at the University of South Florida College of Medicine in Tampa, FL.

As part of the faculty in Capital Health’s Internal Medicine Residency Program, Dr. Ball oversees resident training in hospitalist medicine and supports the mentoring of medical student rotations at Hopewell. Dr. Ball brings energy and enthusiasm to both Internal Medicine and the Transitional Year programming.

Dr. Ball serves on multiple committees throughout the institution and is currently working toward becoming an HRO Trainer for Capital Health’s High Reliability Initiative. She has a special interest in health care informatics and working to improve patient outcomes through technology.


Sarah I. Sordo, MD
Core Faculty, Transitional Year Residency Program

Sarah I. Sordo, MDDr. Sordo graduated with a Gold Diploma from the Higher Institute of Medical Science in Havana, Cuba. She completed her Internal Medicine training at Capital Health and worked as a fourth-year chief resident. She is the recipient of multiple awards from attending physicians and nursing staff during her training at Capital Health and was recognized as a “superior medical resident”.

Dr. Sordo is part of the team at Capital Health Primary Care – Hopewell and is actively involved with resident education and training. Dr. Sordo has been a faculty member of the Internal Medicine Residency Program since 2001. Her areas of interest are preventive medicine and wellness, obesity and other metabolic disorders, and women’s health.


Muhammad Tahseen, MD
Core Faculty, Transitional Year Residency Program

Muhammad Tahseen, MDDr.Tahseen is an intensivist in the Medical Intensive Care Unit at Capital Health Medical Center – Hopewell and continues to instruct Capital Health’s Internal Medicine residents as part of their ICU rotation at Hopewell.

Board certified in Critical Care Medicine, Dr. Tahseen received his medical degree at Allama Iqbal Medical College in Lahore, Pakistan. He completed his residency in Internal Medicine at Crozer-Chester Medical Center in Upland, PA. He did a fellowship in Critical Care Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center.

Dr. Tahseen enjoys teaching and instructing the residents during their ICU rotation. He encourages residents to be vigilant about every aspect of the patient and their care and challenges residents in a positive way to make them think critically about management.


Jared Paster, DO
Emergency Medicine Clinical Faculty, Transitional Year Residency Program

Jared Paster, DODr. Paster is an attending physician in the Emergency Department (ED) at Capital Health and helps to instruct residents from each GME program as part of their ED rotation.

Board certified in Emergency Medicine and Sports Medicine, Dr. Paster received his medical degree at Rowan University School of Osteopathic Medicine. He completed his residency in Emergency Medicine at St. Luke’s University Hospital in Bethlehem, PA and his Sports Medicine fellowship at Lehigh Valley Health Network.


Steve McDonnell
Coordinator, Transitional Year Residency Program

Steve McDonnellSteve McDonnell graduated from Penn State University with a degree in Communication Arts & Sciences. Before joining the Transitional Year Residency Program, he worked for several years in Capital Health’s Rehabilitation Services Department, running the daily operations at the Outpatient Therapy Clinic.

Steve works closely with the residents, program director and faculty daily to ensure an efficient and productive academic year. He assures compliance with ACGME hospital system requirements through managing all non-clinical functions of the program. Steve believes the Transitional Year Program will be a tremendous foundational building block for residents to succeed in their future professional and academic endeavors.